Auto Updated Question #31
|
Does using the auto-updater overwrite any changes made to configurations? I noticed when i used the auto-updater it redownloaded some of the apps I had removed and reactivated hyprsunset (which I had disabled) |
Replies: 1 comment 1 reply
|
Yeah sorry about that, will be removed in next update - currently yes, it downloads all apps that are in As for configs - yes, but partially, for example if something has breaking changes and I need to update the configs, it will backup the existing config and override it with the one from the repo. This is because a lot of people wouldn't know what to update and their setups would just "break" randomly (and this happened already), so this way it's easier for the front user. Backups are always created in home dir, with a txt file with generated commands for easy restoration, or even a full on 1 click to restore everything script. If you have any suggestions on how to do it better - please do let me know! |
Yeah sorry about that, will be removed in next update - currently yes, it downloads all apps that are in
pkgs.txtwhen updating.As for configs - yes, but partially, for example if something has breaking changes and I need to update the configs, it will backup the existing config and override it with the one from the repo. This is because a lot of people wouldn't know what to update and their setups would just "break" randomly (and this happened already), so this way it's easier for the front user.
Backups are always created in home dir, with a txt file with generated commands for easy restoration, or even a full on 1 click to restore everything script.
If you have any suggestions on how …